Applying for License Plates
All the vehicles must be registered, titled, and have valid Utah License Plates in UT. Actually, the state offers a variety of plates for its residents and not only. If classifying you may either get a standard one or a personalized one for your vehicle.
Generally, some steps are varied based on the type of a number tag you want to get. However, most of them are common for all the types. In UT, a license plate application is a part of a registration process and is submitted simultaneously. To have the request form submitted in the local office you have to provide the following documents:
In most cases, when the car was bought from a dealership, it’s their responsibility to take care of the whole paperwork.
Applicable Fees and Payments
You will be charged fees when registering your vehicle and obtaining your license plates. The fees generally vary based on the number tag type you want to get. Standard ones cost $12. If you lose or damage one of your decals you have to pay $5 additionally.
What concerns the personalized ones they may range from $5 to $20.
When you successfully finish the application, DMV workers will issue you temporary tags that will allow you to operate your automobile or motorcycle legally by the time your. They give you the ability to drive legally until your decals arrive.
Temporary decals cost $6. You have to always attach them to your automobile to avoid fines and penalties.
Transferring or Surrendering…
If you no longer need the decals you may surrender them. The surrendering should take place in three cases:
First, if you move out of state.
Secondly, if you no longer operate the car.
And, if you want to switch to another type.
Generally, if you are going to buy a new car you may just transfer your current tags to a new auto. However, you must be the owner of the new automobile or motorcycle. You are not allowed to give away your LPs when selling your auto.
Run a quick lookup…
As mentioned above you can obtain either standard or personalized tags for your automobile. In case you want a Utah Custom License plate you are responsible to decide the letter-digit combination that will be printed on it.
Actually, you can always contact the DMV office to check the availability of the desired combination. However, you may also run a quick UT license plate lookup.
Take into account that you cannot use any symbols or punctuation marks on them. State also prohibits the use of vulgar or offensive phrases.